Posted on

Take the Lead

A student says to me today, “I’m not sure how to start my story.”  I reminded him of the different types of leads we’d worked on before and he quickly turned back to his story and began working again.  As I walked away, I started thinking that the lesson I did on leads was one of my most successful.  It was quite fun planning for it and finding examples to share with the students in one of our 4th grade classrooms.  In honor of that lesson, tonight’s post will be  a sampling of types of leads that could begin a story.  I’d love to know which you like best!

1. Dialogue:  “You’re a champ.  Always have been.  Always will be.  Now get out there and show ’em what you’ve got kid!”  I saw his mouth moving but I didn’t hear a word Coach said…

2. Question:  Have you ever wanted something so badly you thought you’d do anything to make it happen?  Something you’ve worked for all year and it’s come down to this moment? It’s like time is standing still and I’m the only one moving…

3. Quote:  Champions do not become champions when they win the even, but in the hours, weeks, months, and years they spend preparing for it.  The victorious performance itself is merely the demonstration of their championship character.  T. Alan Armstrong


4.  Figurative Language:  As the locker room door swung open I stood in amazement at the crowd.  Every seat was filled.  I could normally find my parents among the few others that felt it was their obligation to attend the game.  This time was different.  The fans were as numerous and noisy as a swarm of bees working on their hive. 

Leave a Reply

