Posted on

For the Love of Kindle

Have I mentioned how much I love my kindle?

I bought it thinking it would be a cool way to read books. I’d no longer have to figure out where I’d store the books when I was finished with them or which ones I would donate.  Instead, the books would be neatly stored on my Kindle.  I love this about the Kindle but what I love most of all is that I have been reading sooooo much more!!

It’s amazing the way technology has made it so easy to get new books.  And, if you haven’t yet discovered, you can “check out” books virtually from your local library for FREE!  Although they don’t have all the books I want, and many I have to go on a waiting list for, it is worth the wait!

Just like we try to do in writing, I am also trying to venture outside my comfort zone (which is Nicolas Sparks’ books) by reading other genres.  In doing so I found a mystery/thriller titled Before I Go to Sleep.  I read this in less than 2 days.  I couldn’t put it down. Memoirs have recently become a preferred genre of mine.  Two of them include The Glass Castle and one I’m currently reading, Once Upon A Secret.

I am looking forward to trying out different writing genres this month as I continue with this challenge.  Just yesterday I attempted poetry by writing what I was thankful for and I am actually looking forward to trying a poem again soon!

Perhaps the message of my post today is something I’ve come to realize-don’t be afraid to try new things, you just might find yourself loving it.  And that’s exactly what has happened to me in reading AND writing!!

2 responses to “For the Love of Kindle

  1. Lori

    I love my Kindle also, but I find I read even faster than I do turning pages. I use it for fiction, but I still like my professional reading in a “real” book.

  2. elsie

    This challenge is a great place to try out different writing genres and craft. It’s all about expanding yourself and growing as a writer and after the book recommendations today, a reader.

Leave a Reply

