Posted on

Rainy Days and Fridays

“Talkin’ to myself and feelin’ old. Sometimes I’d like to quit, nothin’ ever seems to fit. Hangin’ around, nothin’ to do but frown. Rainy days and Mondays always get me down”  The Carpenters

I couldn’t get this song out of my head today since we’re having a rainy day here in Indianapolis.  The only thing that’s different is that it’s Friday and not Monday.

“Hangin’ around, nothin’ to do but frown?”  Not me!  As a wife and mother of 3, there’s not much time for ‘hangin’ around’.  Tonight we started off the weekend by attending our church’s fish fry and enjoyed the company of our friends.  Our kids ran around, laughed, paused for a few minutes to scarf down some fish, then took off again to mingle with their schoolmates.  They enjoy this time as much as I do.

Saturday, we’ll attend a retreat as we prepare our youngest son for his First Communion Celebration.  Can’t believe he’s already a 2nd grader.

As Sunday rolls around, I’ll awake wondering where the weekend has gone, then begin my usual routine which includes hitting Target (my favorite store), finishing laundry, and preparing for another week of school.

Part one of our state’s high stakes test begins Monday but I’m not going to let that get me down.  We are ready!

One response to “Rainy Days and Fridays

  1. Ruth

    You’re right — no hanging around with nothin’ to do for you! Enjoy your weekend. 🙂
    Ruth

Leave a Reply

